Trancendentalism: Everyone gets a lifetime

Ralph Waldo Emerson wrote extensively on Transcendentalism, and the ideals of achieving perfection of the self in an ultimately flawed world through understanding of experience.

The pursuit of the ideal self has led me down countless avenues of experience, both positive and harmful, and I live with very few regrets because those experiences have all brought me a higher understanding of existence than what I possessed before living them. This marvelous alphabet soup comes down to three words:

“Why Can I?”.

Instead of accepting our limitations, examining the possibilities and realities of every possible option, including the one we choose to live brings us deeper understanding of ourselves and life itself. Transcendental thinking involves a great deal of willingness to accept the “good and the bad” and evaluate them outside of the framework of preconceptions of what “should” or “should not” be.

I tend to find myself preoccupied with the experience I haven’t had yet, but know people who theoretically have, Death. or rather the cessation of cognitive function.

I study the materials and ephemera of death, darkness and cultural significance of the symbols we associate with it globally. It is fascinating to me how deeply we associate beautiful, sensual materials; such as the color black, smooth bone, musty earth, delicate shrouds as symbols of the conceptual death while we remain alive.

Theoretically, we can only experience decomposition, burial and other processes of death through the experiences of others who are, technically, no longer experiencing them: leaving us to participate in customs (That by their uniform natures rob us of deep genuine experience) or observe biological functions and materials.

I could carry on, but never forget,

Everyone gets a lifetime.

 

